• The XIX

    Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference

    5-9 July 2021

    St. Petersburg, Russia

General info

The 19th Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference (ELS-XIX) will be held in St. Petersburg, Russia on 5-9 July 2021.
It will build on the remarkable success of the previous ELS conferences held in Amsterdam, Helsinki (twice), New York, Vigo, Halifax, Gainesville, Bremen, Salobreña, St. Petersburg, Bodrum, Hatfield, Taormina, Lille, Leipzig, College Park, College Station, and Hangzhou. The main objective of the conference is to bring together scientists and engineers studying various aspects of light scattering and to provide a relaxed academic atmosphere for in-depth discussions of theoretical advances, measurements, and applications.
This edition of ELS conference will be dedicated to our deeply regretted friend and colleague Michael Mishchenko .

The specific topics that will be covered include (but are not limited to) the following:


  • new theoretical developments, numerical simulations, and laboratory measurements of light scattering by nonspherical and morphologically complex particles and particle groups
  • detection and characterization of atmospheric particulates using laboratory, in situ, and remote sensing techniques
  • scattering of light by terrestrial aerosols and clouds
  • scattering of light by oceanic particulates
  • scattering of light by solar system objects, exoplanets, and exoplanetary environments
  • scattering of light by various astrophysical objects
  • applications of light scattering methods in biology and biomedicine
  • light scattering in densely packed particulate media
  • near-field and coherent effects in light scattering, optical trapping, and manipulation
  • light scattering methods to control material properties and technological applications


Please prepare your 1-page abstract using the template (download archive) available in .doc, .pdf and .tex.
Submit your application by creating an apply form (will be available soon).

Travel grants

There is a limited amount of funds available for participants who need financial assistance to attend the conference distributed on a competitive basis.

To be considered for a grant please fill in the grant application form and send it to Alexey Shcherbakov and CC to Anastasia Kaptsova before 28 February 2021.

Students from the US universities applying for the travel gran, please contact Matthew J. Berg (Kansas State University, US) via email or phone: (785) 317-3378.


Important Dates:

  • February 28, 2021 - Grant application deadline
  • April 1, 2021 - Application Submission deadline
  • April 25, 2021 - Application results
  • July 5-9, 2021 - ELS-XIX


Conference conveners

Alexey Shcherbakov
ITMO University, Russia
M. Pinar Mengüç
Ozyegin University, Turkey
Ping Yang
Texas A&M University, USA
Matthew J. Berg
Kansas State University, USA

Local committee

Alexey Shcherbakov, Chair
Anastasia Kaptsova, Secretary

ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia)

Science committee

Pavel Belov, ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia
Anatoli Borovoi, Institute of Atmospheric Optics, Tomsk, Russia
Sharon Burton, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA, USA
Anthony Davis, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA
Gérard Gouesbet, National Institute of Applied Sciences, Rouen, France
Joop Hovenier, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Evgueni Kassianov, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA, USA
Nikolai Khlebtsov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Saratov, Russia
Gerhard Kristensson, Lund University, Sweden
Eric Le Ru, Victoria University, Wellington, New Zealand
James Lock, Cleveland State University, OH, USA
Hal Maring, NASA HQ, Washington, DC, USA
Alexander Marshak, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, USA
M. Pinar Mengüç, Ozyegin University, Istanbul, Turkey
Karri Muinonen, University of Helsinki & National Land Survey, Finland
Timo Nieminen, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Elena Petrova, Space Research Institute, Moscow, Russia
Christopher Sorensen, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS, USA
Knut Stamnes, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ, USA
Gorden Videen, Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, MD, USA
Thomas Wriedt, University of Bremen, Germany
Ping Yang, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA
Maxim Yurkin, Novosibirsk State University, Russia


Invited speakers

regularly updated

Speaker Talk
Albert Ansmann Recent progress in polarization lidar applications to aerosols and clouds
Lei Bi A review of electromagnetic scattering by super-spheroids: methods and applications
Adrian Doicu Electromagnetic scattering by discrete random media
Oleg Dubovik Advancements in solving inverse problems: utilisation of multiple a priori constraints in atmospheric remote sensing
Yuri Eremin Discrete Sources Method: outline, plasmonic applications, and non-local effects
Nikolai Khlebtsov Plasmonic gold and hybrid nanostructures for biomedical applications
Daniel Mackowski TBD
Hal Maring Programmatic approach and progress in the preformulation study for NASA's Aerosol, Cloud, Convection and Precipitation (ACCP) observing system
M. Pinar Mengüç Nature inspired designs based on near-field radiative transfer and light scattering: A Review
Hans Moosmgüller and Christopher M. Sorensen Complex Refractive Index and Aerosol Optics
Karri Muinonen Scattering and absorption in discrete random media of densely-packed particles
Eric Le Ru TBD
Christopher M. Sorensen and Justin B. Maughan New perspectives on light scattering by particles of arbitrary morphology
Ping Yang TBD
Maxim Yurkin The discrete dipole approximation: from Maxwell's equations to practical applications

Conference FEE

Regular - 23 000 RUB (or 350 USD)
Student - 14 000 RUB (or 220 USD)
Participant (without talk) - 18 000 RUB (or 280 USD)


The conference venue will be announced soon.
Late June - early July is a beautiful time of year, famous for its "White Nights". The weather is usually nice, with temperatures around 18-19 C.
Given the extreme popularity of this destination in June/July, it is very important to start your planning now and reserve a hotel as early as possible.


There will be Elsevier awards presented at the conference, more information will be announced soon.

Topical issue of JQSRT

Following the highly successful ELS practice, we will be soliciting papers for the ELS-XIX Topical Issue of the Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer (JQSRT) and hope that you will want your state-of-the-art research to become part of yet another benchmark collection of papers on electromagnetic scattering and its applications. This Topical Issue will consist only of full-size papers documenting research either reported at the conference or pertaining to the main topics of ELS-XIX. Extended abstracts of conference presentations will not be considered. Each submission will be thoroughly reviewed by at least two independent referees to ensure that all accepted manuscripts satisfy the highest standards of scientific quality adopted for JQSRT. Again, this will be a topical issue of JQSRT rather than a conference proceedings volume.

More details on the JQSRT issue wil be announced later.

Contact info

Further information: Alexey Shcherbakov

NASA contact: Matthew J. Berg

199034, Russia, St. Petersburg, Lomonosova str. 9

Department of Physics and Engineering

Facebook | VKontakte | Twitter